England: Eddie Jones drops Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George AND George Ford from squad

Ruthless Eddie Jones wields the axe as he DROPS senior stars Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George AND George Ford from his first England squad of the season

  • Eddie Jones axed several senior stars from his England squad on Tuesday
  • The England coach picked his squad of players for a two-day camp next week 
  • Jones used the opportunity to lay down a message by dropping big-name stars
  • Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and George Ford were all omitted







Eddie Jones fired a shot across the bows at several senior figures, dropping Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and George Ford from his first England squad of the season.

While only picked for the purposes of gathering together 45 men for a two-day camp next week, Jones has discarded four of his most-selected players, and two Lions, with Elliot Daly also out injured.

Exciting talents who went on the Lions tour Marcus Smith and Sam Simmonds – last selected in 2018 – are in, with Manu Tuilagi also back.

Eddie Jones named his first England squad of the season on Tuesday morning

Billy Vunipola (left) and Mako Vunipola (right) were notable omissions from the 45-man squad

Uncapped Gabriel Oghre, the Wasps hooker, Sam Riley, a 20-year-old Harlequins hooker, the champions’ flanker Jack Kenningham, Sale No 9 Raffi Quirke, Northampton wing Ollie Sleightholme, Sale prop Bevan Rodd, 31-year-old Gloucester centre Mark Atkinson and Quins wing Louis Lynagh are all in.

Lynagh is a surprise call-up. He qualifies for both Australia – thanks to father Michael – and Italy, having been born there and with an Italian mother – so England need to cap the 20-year-old soon for fear of losing him to other countries.

Joe Marler, who won his last cap in December 2020, returns to the England fold too.

Returning Lions Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, Courtney Lawes, Owen Farrell, Kyle Sinckler and Anthony Watson will join the Teddington camp next week as summer caps Adam Radwan, Freddie Steward, Harry Randall, Trevor Davison, Callum Chick and Jamie Blamire involved too.

George Ford was also dropped and won’t take part in next week’s two-day training camp

Jones said: ‘This is an exciting squad made up of experienced players and young guys who did well in the summer and have earned their place again. 

‘We have left out some experienced players but we’re really clear that the door isn’t closed to them, and we’re looking forward to seeing them work hard to get back into contention. 

‘We have five campaigns now until the 2023 World Cup so each one counts, and this is a chance for this 45 to impress the new coaching staff.’ 



Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps) Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps) Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 31 caps) Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 33 caps) Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap) Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 1 cap) Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 23 caps) Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 30 caps) Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps) Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps) Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors, 2 caps) Maro Itoje (Saracens, 48 caps) Jack Kenningham (Harlequins, uncapped) Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 87 caps) Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 10 caps) Lewis Ludlow (Gloucester Rugby, 2 caps) Joe Marler (Harlequins, 72 caps) George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap) Beno Obano (Bath Rugby, 3 caps) Gabriel Oghre (Wasps, uncapped) Sam Riley (Harlequins, uncapped) Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, uncapped) Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps) Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 44 caps) Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 12 caps) Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 24 caps) 


Mark Atkinson (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped) Owen Farrell (Saracens, 93 caps) George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 4 caps) Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 7 caps) Louis Lynagh (Harlequins, uncapped) Max Malins (Saracens, 8 caps) Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 6 caps) Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 66 caps) Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks, uncapped) Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap) Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 2 caps) Dan Robson (Wasps, 14 caps) Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 40 caps) Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints, uncapped) Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 2 caps) Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps) Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 43 caps) Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 51 caps) Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 109 caps)

Source link

Spread the love

Leave a Reply