EU countries agree to ban new ICE cars by 2035

After a marathon negotiation session, the 27 countries of the European Union have agreed to effectively ban the sale of new cars and vans powered by petrol and diesel engines by 2035.

The agreement, reached at around 2am European time, sets the negotiating position between the EU member states with the European Commission and EU Parliament.

The European Council — a body consisting of the head of government of each EU member nation — has agreed “to introduce a 100 per cent CO2 emissions reduction target by 2035 for new cars and vans”.

It’s likely the final text of laws regarding the phase out of new ICE vehicle sales is still some months away.

Agreement on this matter between all the 27 EU member states wasn’t guaranteed with some rumblings of discontent surfacing…

Source link

Spread the love

Leave a Reply Cancel reply